loader image

Locos 3 – 0 Formartine United

Evening Express Aberdeenshire Cup

Locos stormed through to the semi finals of the Evening Express Aberdeenshire Cup with an impressive victory against Formartine United. A stunning Mark Souter strike opened the scoring in the first half before Milosz Ochmanski doubled the lead early in the second period. A late Paul Coutts penalty capped an excellent night for the Railwaymen.

After a bright start by the visitors, Locos soon began to impose themselves on the game. There had been little goal threat though, before Souter received the ball inside his own half with almost 20 minutes played. Urged forward by the crowd, the defender then took aim from 35 yards and couldn’t have hit a better shot, giving Ewen MacDonald no chance as the ball dipped under the crossbar.

Locos continued to have the better of the game with Nathan Meres stinging the palms of MacDonald shortly before the break.

With United looking to get back into the game, Locos took a firm grip of proceedings when Ochmanski rose unchallenged to head a Coutts corner from the left back past the keeper and into the net. It was no more than they deserved and it was the men in Fire and Coal who continued to pose the greater threat. Macdonald kept out a Jay Halliday effort before superbly tipping Meres’ drive over the bar. In between those chances, Julian Wade wasn’t far off target with a free kick 20 yards from goal.

The visitors applied some late pressure but were unable to test Zack Ellis and, with five minutes remaining, Meres was pulled down by Aaron Norris and Coutts confidently fired home from the spot.

This was a comprehensive victory and a firm indication that Dean Donaldson’s Locos can compete with the best teams in the Highland League. This result earns a last four meeting with Aberdeen, the details of which have yet to be confirmed.

Locos are next in action on Saturday as we are at Harlaw Park once again to take on Lossiemouth.

Inverurie Loco Works

1Zack Ellis
2Mark Souter 19'
3Thomas Reid
4Jay Halliday
5Paul Coutts 85'
6Cole Anderson
7Lloyd Robertson
8Milosz Ochmanski 49'
9Nathan Meres
10Myles Gaffney
11Logan Johnstone
14Callum Duncan
15Blair Smith
16Liam Morrison
17Sam Robertson
18Dem Yunus
19Anton Chauvin
20Calum Dingwall
23Blessing Oluyemi

Formartine United FC

1Ewen MacDonald
2Jonathan Crawford
3Ryan Spink
4Lewis Wilson
5Stuart Smith
6Marc Lawrence
7Julian Wade
8Graeme Rodger
9Paul Campbell
10Aaron Norris
11Scott Lisle
12Aidan Combe
14Lewis Duncan
15Kevin Hanratty
16Kieran Adams
17Brody Alberts
21Cameron Middleton