loader image

Locos 2 – 0 Dyce

Morrison Motors (Turriff) Aberdeenshire Shield

Locos eased past a determined Dyce side to progress in the Morrison Motors (Turriff) Aberdeenshire Shield. A goal in each half, from Glen Donald and Sam Robertson, gave the Railwaymen their second victory in four days at Harlaw Park as they once again shut their opponents out at the other end.

Interim boss Jamie Watt made a few changes from the team that defeated Strathspey Thistle on Saturday and there was a place on the bench for young Morgan Conway. The visitors started brightly but Locos soon settled and gained a measure of control. Sam Robertson had already had an effort deflected over the bar when another shot was well saved by former Loco Morgan Cook. Cole Anderson got to the loose ball but his shot was blocked.

With 20 minutes on the clock, Donald opened the scoring. The defender, who left Dyce in the summer to move to Harlaw Park, found himself with space to get onto the end of a Paul Coutts free kick from the right to head into the top corner.

Locos continued to make the running with Anderson keen to add to his opening goal for the club at the weekend. He put an effort just over the bar before taking aim from a free kick as the half came to a close but was well of target.

Dyce again looked lively at the start of the second half but couldn’t test Zack Ellis. Midway through the half a Greg Mitchell shot from the edge of the area was blocked before Callum Duncan came close to scoring a goal that would have been talked about for some time to come, his curling effort drifting just wide of the far post. Duncan came close again a couple of minutes later but it wasn’t long before the second goal came. Coutts set piece delivery was excellent all evening and his corner was met by Logan Johnstone. His header was cleared off the line but when the ball was put back into the danger area, Sam Robertson – also once of Dyce – thumped home from close range.

Dyce kept going but Locos saw the game out in reasonable comfort and were able to give Conway his first team debut. This victory sets up a quarter-final tie with Buckie Thistle next week.

Inverurie Loco Works

1Zack Ellis
2Greg Mitchell
3Logan Johnstone
4Dem Yunus 16
5Calum Dingwall 18
6Glen Donald 20'
7Blair Smith 17
8Paul Coutts 21
9Sam Robertson 74'
10Cole Anderson 15
11Callum Duncan
14Jay Halliday
15Lloyd Robertson 10
16Thomas Reid 4
17Nathan Meres 7
18Liam Morrison 5
19Josh Buchan
20Taylor Mason
21Morgan Conway 8
23John Farquhar

Dyce FC

1Morgan Cook
2Graeme Cochrane
3Blair Johnstone 12
4Jamie Brailsford
5Craig Mackie
6Kyle Douglas 14
7Sam Garnham
8Jack Walker
9Gavin Byers 18
10Dylan Souden 15
11Daniel Agnew 16
12Craig McDonald 3
14Nazan Abdulkarim 6
15Jake Buirds 10
16Michael Bruce 11
17Theo Leslie
18Sam Robertson 9
19Nicolas Wozniak